July 9th Join the General Membership Virtual Meeting on Thursday 7:00 pm!

On Thursday July 9th at 7:00 pm, OPCL will again meet virtually. Several issues facing the community will have important updates and decisions to consider concerning: Marlin Bay Development, Beach Replenishment and Labor Day fireworks.

Register now for the OPCL virtual meeting on Zoom. https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIpd-iqqzwpGtN8XzdS4u2QevopiaFE80rL

It’s easy to register! Click on the above link anytime to register. You will get a confirmation email that has your link to the meeting. Register now so you will be included and can get the most up-to-date information about the issues facing our community. If you have any questions, you can leave a comment below or send an email to communication@opcl.org .

For testing Zoom on your desktop or personal device: https://zoom.us/test

If you are in need of the app, get it here:

-for Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=us.zoom.videomeetings

-for the Desktop (web client) https://zoom.us/client/latest/ZoomInstaller.exe

-for Apple: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id546505307

Rezoning Request for developing Marlin Bay Apartments

Developer’s request to rezone to allow for 227-unit apartment structure goes to planning meeting soon.

Contact City officials and let them know your concerns! Click on linked email addresses below

“Hi, my name is __ and I am an Ocean Park (resident, homeowner, business owner). I oppose the request to increase density and rezone Marlin Bay Apartments on Shore Dr. and Marlin Bay from B2/PDH1 to conditional B4. I am not opposed to all development but I want to ensure it is in line with the community and quality of life here.”

Mayor Bobby Dyer — 757-385-4581 — bdyer@vbgov.com

Mark Shea — Comprehensive Planning Coordinator— meshea@vbgov.com

VB Planning Commission

VB City Council

Louis Jones — 757-583-0177 — lrjones@vbgov.com

Jim Wood — 757-366-1011 — jlwood@vbgov.com

Bayfront Advisory Commission

Charles Malbon Vice Chair — tanklines@aol.com

Morgan Ayers— ayersmorgan@gmail.com

Faith Christie— Fchristie3@cox.net

Wallis Damon— walkatdam@aol.com

Philip Davenport — Pdavenport9@cox.net

Charles Faison Jr. — geefaison@gmail.com

William Hearst — whearst@verizon.net

Stacey Shiflet — Sshiflet35@yahoo.com

Martin Thomas — Mthomas2001@gmail.com

Negative Impacts on Ocean Park

In accordance with the Shore Drive overlay a parcel of 4 acres or more can have 36 units per acre which is 144 not 227. The apartment complex would occupy 4 acres. Including Lynnhaven Marine, it is a 6 acre parcel so they have planned 227 units.

Environmental study needs to be performed to determine the impact on PHP .

Parking spilling onto Marlin Bay and surrounding neighborhoods

Emergency service response serving Ocean Park

Here is the Marlin Bay development website to get information from the company developing the project. https://www.marlinbayvb.com/

%d bloggers like this: